Hit or Hate: “Brother” by Kodaline

After a few years of no music, Kodaline has come back big. Their new song “Brother” exceeded my expectations and every part of the song makes me more and more excited for what’s to come.

I fell in love with Kodaline – an alternative/folk/rock band from Ireland – when they came out with In A Perfect World in 2013, where they featured singles like “All I Want” and “One Day”. After that, they released another album with one of the best love songs I have ever heard, “The One”.

Image may contain: 4 people

Like always, the lead singer Steve Garrigan did a phenomenal job on vocals and led the band quite admirably.

In the song “Brother” the lyrics and calm instrumental are the main focus. One quality I noticed was the electronic monotone chorus where they sing “I got you brother”, initially this part didn’t seem like it matched, but after listening to it repeatedly, it is one of the most unique, hypnotizing sounds I have ever heard.

 

If I was dying on my knees
You would be the one to rescue me
And if you were drowned at sea
I’d give you my lungs so you could breathe

The song itself has a great message and tells a story, which is kind of hard to find nowadays. If this song shows me anything, it’s that Kodaline has found their sound and what’s coming will be big.

Kodaline has consistently been one of my favorite bands for the past 4 years and “Brother” shows me that they really have some great music coming. I’ve been waiting a long time for them to come up with something new, and they did not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

