Sound Showdown: Imagine Dragons

On June 23, 2017 Imagine Dragons released their new album Evolve. Instead of doing a basic review, I decided to put two songs against each other to ultimately come out with a winner. The winner wins basically nothing, but I earn the satisfaction of finally deciding which tune I like more.

Imagine Dragons came into the spotlight a few years ago with their chart-topping single “It’s Time”. I’ve been a fan of them ever since and over the last few years I have been following them more closely, waiting for a new album to become obsessed with. A few movie soundtrack appearances later, they finally did it. They made another successful and unique rock album.

The two songs going head-to-head this week are “Believer” and “Whatever It Takes”. Both songs are motivational and catchy, but which one is better.

BELIEVER

This song was their first release a few months back and it has found its spot on charts everywhere. “Believer” is an anthem for every underdog.

Second thing
Second, don’t you tell me what you think that I can be
I’m the one at the sail, I’m the master of my sea, oh ooh
The master of my sea, oh ooh

 

The lyrics in this song speak great wisdom, and I would be glad to have them hanging on my wall to give me daily motivation. Not to mention the fact that the music makes you want to bang your head and run as far as possible.

WHATEVER IT TAKES

“Whatever It Takes” is similar in terms of message, but I found that this one focuses on risks more so than living through the pain and defying all odds.

Whatever it takes
‘Cause I love the adrenaline in my veins
I do whatever it takes
‘Cause I love how it feels when I break the chains

 

The lyrics in the song are just as motivational and uplifting, but the melody is different. This song has a build to it that is really amazing. It starts slow, all while maintaining the iconic Imagine Dragons speed.

WINNER

The winner for me is “Believer”. Maybe, I knew that before comparing them. The main reason for this conclusion is simply because in this moment I identify with this song more so, but maybe Imagine Dragons decided to put these two similar songs on to match the entire process of picking yourself up and taking risks, and the vicious cycle of life itself. And that’s really admirable.

Leave a Reply

