Top 5: Coldplay

As a die-hard Coldplay fan, I’m surprised I haven’t made a full post about them before on this blog.

I believe they are one of the only bests who have successfully been consistent with their music and have earned their high praise and acclimation in all the right ways. Not to mention, the lead singer, Chris Martin, seems like one of the best human beings ever – actually, the entire band seems humble, down-to-earth, and genuine (and this shows in their music).

After so many years within the music industry, Coldplay has come out with some iconic albums and some iconic singles that will forever hold a spot as a classic. This list is in no particular order:

1. Yellow

To start off, “Yellow” was one of their very first singles that hit the charts and ever since, it’s been in movies and a definite classic for the band. If you know Coldplay, then you know “Yellow”.

Your skin
Oh yeah your skin and bones
Turn into something beautiful
You know you know I love you so

2. O

The next song is personally one of my favorites. The song “O” is so raw and gentle, so much to the point you can hear the hopeful cry of Chris Martin. This particular song means a lot to me, so I find that it definitely deserves to be on the list.

Fly on, ride through
Maybe one day I can fly with you

3. Paradise

“Paradise” was another one of their definitive singles from the album Mylo Xyloto. The album itself has other hits, but this one was the most well-received. Also, the music video is pretty unique as well.

When she was just a girl she expected the world
But it flew away from her reach
So she ran away in her sleep and dreamed of
Para-para-paradise, para-para-paradise, para-para-paradise

4. The Scientist

Next, is the song “The Scientist”. “The Scientist” is simply beautiful, honest, and so clever. The lyrics are so complex and meaningful to the point where everyone can make their own meaning, but at the same time Martin tells a story like no other.

Nobody said it was easy
It’s such a shame for us to part
Nobody said it was easy
No one ever said it would be this hard

5. Amsterdam

Finally, the song “Amsterdam” is another personal song that makes me happy. Although it’s a heartbreaking song, I know that it has helped me so much in my life and sometimes, some music is more important because of how personal it is than how popular it is.

Come here, oh my star is fading
And I swerve out of control
And I swear I waited and waited
I’ve got to get out of this hole

Yes, I know and am aware of all the different songs they have, and you have no clue how hard it was to narrow down their “Top 5”, but honestly, I can’t make a “Top 100”.

I believe that they are one of the best modern day bands, because they aren’t afraid to try new things and to be themselves, and to make their own art.

Leave a Reply

